January 29, 2019

German Chancellor Angela Merkel Wins Fulbright Prize


German Chancellor Angela Merkel greets Congress-Bundestag Youth Exchange (CBYX) program alumnus James Roldan after his presentation of "The Great Exchange," a musical about a year in the life of an American exchange student in Germany.

Congratulations to Dr. Angela Merkel, Federal Chancellor of Germany, for receiving the 2018 Fulbright Prize for International Understanding! The Fulbright Association, which is the unified voice for alumni and supporters of the Fulbright Program, chose Chancellor Merkel for this award “for her remarkable, compassionate leadership and her strong commitment to mutual understanding, international cooperation, and peace.

Merkel has been chancellor of Germany since 2005, the longest-serving head of government in the European Union. This year’s Fulbright ceremony marked another first – it’s the first time the event has been held outside of the United States.

Merkel received her award in Berlin on January 28, 2019. As the latest Fulbright Prize winner, she joins good company: Nelson Mandela, Jimmy Carter, Corazon Aquino, Mary Robinson, and Bill and Melinda Gates have also received the Fulbright Prize.

Did you know? Fulbright exchange participants are exchange alumni and eligible for membership on this website, International Exchange Alumni (IEA). If you are an exchange program alumni and did not receive an email inviting you to join, use this form – https://alumni.state.gov/account-inquiry – to let us know.

View related content by tag